Women’s South Gippsland Golf 2022 Foursomes Championship Phillip Island

Phillip Island Golf Club hosted the South Gippsland Women’s Golf Association Foursomes Championship last week with district clubs being  well represented: twenty eight pairs played and all managed to avoid the rain.

Both the A Grade and B Grade Scratch Foursomes Championship were won by Phillip Island. Taylah Robinson and Lesley Meadowcroft combined well to finish with 89 to win the Foursomes Championship and Sue Brown and Sheryl Smith won the Minor Scratch Foursomes with 105.

The Foster Golf club combination of Robyn Galloway and Barb Warren won the A Grade handicap Foursomes event with 78 nett and Marg Johnson and Patsy Britt from Wonthaggi Golf Club took out the B Grade with 79 nett.

Down the line balls went to the following pairs: Elly Berryman and Marg Tuckett Woorayl 80 nett, Judy Magill and Faye Morris Phillip Island 80.5, Dot Christie and Andrea Thorson Meeniyan 80.5, Rhonda Boyd and Jen Bilson Phillip Island 80.5, Jan Beaumont and Yvonne Everitt Wonthaggi 82 and Jeanette Diss and Vicki Roff-Smith also from Phillip Island with 82 nett.

There were 4 nearest the pins provided on the day, but Phillip Island’s Vicki Roff-Smith, was the only accurate golfer.

The South Gippsland Golf executive would like to extend thanks to Helen Coghlan, women’s Captain of Phillip Island and her committee for their excellent organisation of this event and presentation of the course.

 A reminder to players that the next district event will be the Joyce Berry 4BBB Par event at Wonthaggi Golf Club on November 18th, our last district event for the year.

The executive would also like to extend good wishes to the men and women selected in the Country Teams to be played this year : Rebecca Thomas Leongatha, Jennifer Sullivan Lang Lang, Irene Holm and  Andrea Thorson Meeniyan, Faye Morris Phillip Island, Sharon Rayson and Elly Berryman Woorayl, Robyn Galloway Foster and Merrissa Cosson Korumburra, Anne Walker Team Manager and Sue Wylie Match committee representative.

Marg Johnson and Patsy Britt B Grade Handicap, Sue Brown and Sheryl Smith Minor Scratch, Lesley Meadowcroft and Taylah Robinson Foursomes Championship, Robyn Galloway and Barb Warren A Grade handicap.