2023 SGG Womens Singles Championship

15th May, Korumburra Golf Club hosted the prestigious South Gippsland Golf Women’s Singles Championships in ideal weather conditions. Slick greens and heavier than usual conditions were challenging for some players.

Rebecca Thomas from Leongatha Golf Club took out the Singles Championship with 82 off the stick. Rebecca has now claimed this honour twelve times! A great effort. Merryn Dear from Wonthaggi Golf Club had an excellent 73 nett to win the A Grade handicap event.

The B Grade Championship was won by a newcomer to Korumburra Golf Club, Trudi Mantell, with 103. She won this on a count back from Heather Grist, last years’ winner. Trudi also won the B Grade handicap event with 77nett.

The C Grade Championship winner was Inge Giliam from Woorayl Golf Club who was both surprised and delighted at her good fortune. Inge had 115 off the stick and a stableford score of 26 to win the handicap event.

The nearest the pins were won by Kerri Besley (Korumburra GC) on the 1st, Rebecca Thomas (Leongatha GC) on the 7th, Jenny Blackmore (Korumburra GC) on the 13th and Kay Dumbleton from Leongatha on the 10th.

Down the line balls were won by Jenny Blackmore (Korumburra Golf Club) and Kay Dumbleton (Leongatha GC) 80 nett, Keri Besley (Korumburra GC) 81, Deb Wrigley (Korumburra GC), Marg Johnson, Dawn Judkins (Wonthaggi GC), Wendy Parker (Leongatha GC), Andrea Thorson (Meeniyan GC) and Beth Curram (Foster GC) 83 and Heather Grist (Korumburra GC) 84 on a count back.

Many thanks to Leongatha Golf Club who generously sponsored the scratch and handicap events.