## South Gippsland Golf Women's Pennant Finals 2024

The morning brought a heavy fog to the district and as it lifted it revealed a wonderful sunny day for the Women's pennant finals being held at Lang Lang Golf Club on Monday 6<sup>th</sup> May.

The finalists in each of the three divisions were Section 1 - Phillip Island v Meeniyan, in Section 2, Phillip Island v Wonthaggi and in Section 3 Korumburra v Phillip Island.

The course was in wonderful condition and the greens were 'running'. It was great to see a good following of spectators around the course enjoying the golf being played - three close finals that could've gone either way.

In Section 1 after an awesome achievement of winning the pennant for the last seven years, Meeniyan Golf Club were defeated in a very tight contest by Phillip Island 3 matches to 2. Phillip Island going through the competition undefeated for the year. This was Phillip Island's first Section 1 win since 2006. The team members were Lesley Meadowcroft (Captain), Emma Hall, Ada Anglin, Deb Orr, Helen Coghlan and Jeanette Diss (Emergency).

There was another very close contest in Section 2 between Wonthaggi and Phillip Island with Wonthaggi coming out winners 3 matches to 2. There was three matches that went 'the distance' to the 18<sup>th</sup> hole. The winning team were Robyn Wilkinson (Captain). Marg Ryan, Merryn Dear, Yvonne Everitt, Jan Beaumont, and Marg Johnson (Emergency).

Section 3 continued the 'close contest' theme, taking it just a little bit further with play continuing to the 19<sup>th</sup> hole in the final match to decide who would secure the pennant. Phillip Island taking the honours and winning 3 matches to 2 over Korumburra. Team members were Mary Taylor (Captain), Megan Elbaz, Vicki Amato, Ros Reid, and Vicki Ramage.

The SGGI women's match committee extended thanks to the Lang Lang Golf Club for making their course and club house available for this event. Congratulations to all the finalists and to our 2024 pennant winners.

Photos: Section 1 Phillip Island Golf Club Jeanette Diss, Helen Coghlan, Lesley Meadowcroft (Captain), Emma Hall, Ada Anglin, Deb Orr

Section 2 Wonthaggi Golf Club Robyn Wilkinson (Captain), Marg Johnson, Jan Beaumont, Marg Ryan, Yvonne Everitt, Merryn Dear

Section 3

Phillip Island Golf Club Mary Taylor (Captain), Vicki Ramage, Ros Reid, Vicki Amato, Megan Elbaz, Pam Rothfield, Jillian Chandler

